Top 5 pastry counter choices

kitchenknightkitchenknight 4,922 Posts
edited January 2007 in Strut Central
My name on here and in real life is kitchen knight; here, it is more literal, and in real life, it is Gareth, who was King Arthur's Kitchen Knight.But, that is more than just a name. For a good 4 years, I worked as an artisan baker/pastry chef. It was probably the most satisfying work I've ever done or will do. Like many careers, it fell by the wayside as life's demands crept in- namely, that I grew sick of going to work at 4 am on the weekend, and going to bed every night at 8. So, I got out of it, and got into the world of TV production, which I love. But, nothing will ever take the place of baking in my life. Hell, last weekend in NYC, I got to do some of my favorite travelling- going pastry shop to bakery to restaurant, buying a little bit of everything to try it all and share with my friends and family. And now that football season is over my employeer, I plan on getting out the cookbooks, baking pans, and butter (lots of butter) and making some favorites that I've been too busy to get at...In honor of that, I give you my top 5 pastries to cop at the pastry shop.5. Canele- These little french tea cakes are a marvel of baking chemistry. It is a milky, runny batter flavored with rum, extracts, and citrus zests that you pour into tin molds. We lined our molds with a beeswax/butter mixture to allow them to slide out after their nearly 1 hour baking time.But, my god...what a texture. The outside carmelizes into a nice, burnt sugar crust, giving way to a moist webbed cake that oozes the aromatics of its flavorings. Too often, though, they are kept too long on the shelf, and the outer crust gets like rawhide...But, when done right, these are my favorite. 4. Seasonal Scones- Not much for the currants- the texture is too much like BBs to me. But, a good scone- flaky, buttery, not too overpowering- can be an incredible vehicle for seasonal fruits, like blueberries or