little dude production question

mr.brettmr.brett 678 Posts
edited October 2006 in Strut Central
I'm not a producer, but i've been making microwavable edits recently. I was wondering if someone could tell me how bad it is to put an mp3 into a program like sound forge and then output an mp3 when you're done with your project. Obviously it can't be good to compress an already compressed file, but i was wondering what you all thought about this issue.

Comments

• bthavbthav 1,538 Posts
    youre technically not compressing an already compressed file, youre upsampling an mp3 to a .wav or whatever (if you dont see this, your comp is doing this temporarily so you can work with the file). then when you are done, you are recompressing it.

technically, if you use the SAME converter that you originally compressed with to upsample with the SAME pref conversion, then you should be okay as long as you go back to the same file specs as the original.

but the chances of that happening are slim to none. so when this doesnt happen, you are basically taking an already 2nd generation file from the original source and making a 3rd generation file which for the anal retentive is .

im from the camp of, if is sounds on a system you trust, then stop in'.

this concludes yet another dorky message from bthav.

• HawkeyeHawkeye 896 Posts
    Try to get an original copy of that tune instead of an MP3.

MP3 sucks !!!!!!!

• dCastillodCastillo 1,963 Posts
    just leave it as a wav after editing it

• OkemOkem 4,617 Posts
    Get cooledit (or whatever its called now), its much better. And you can just edit it as an mp3.

• Get cooledit (or whatever its called now), its much better. And you can just edit it as an mp3.

It's called adobe audition now.

What bthav is saying, is that if your editing it at all, your comp has decompressed it to wav anwyay.

• bthavbthav 1,538 Posts