HOUSTON APPRECIATION THREAD

djsheepdjsheep 3,620 Posts
edited August 2006 in Strut Central
Man, I lived out there for about half a year.Wasn't interested in raers back then. Just hip-hop records.But I used to eat Chicken Fried Steak at this place in TOMBALL. It was famous, do any houston-ites know that place.I got so fat when I lived out there. All I would do is eat and get drunk off shots of 151.I lived out on the corner of FM1960 and I-45.It was fun. But kinda boring.I like Sonic Hamburgers. And Astroworld was dope... and the Galleria had a skating rink in there... fuck, it's all a BLUR to me... I remember seeing KOOL KEITH at THE WAXX and he was trippin' out....HOUSTON - APPRECIATE ITb

Comments

• HarveyCanalHarveyCanal "a distraction from my main thesis." 13,234 Posts
    I lived in Houston from '86 - '89, as well as every summer from '89 - '91. I graduated high school from there.

What I remember the most is all the shrimp, flounder, redfish, and trout you could pull from Galveston Bay on a daily basis. That's not to slight the mullet, hardhead, croaker, skipjack, and drum...but that's that shit we'd throw back. And yes, the best fishing often required wading into the flats with a funny hat on that held your tackle for you. There was this one little dude that we'd always see out at Seascape who had a pet goose that would follow him as he fished. We called him "the kid". He would actually keep track of every fish he'd catch during the course of a season, as in "that's the 117th flounder that will go in my freezer this summer".

Hunting is also a big deal in Houston. If you ain't taken at least one deer in your life, you might as well move to Montrose with an "insert here" sign posted on your back. Doves are delicious, quail even moreso. And you ain't lived until you've eaten a fried jack rabbit heart.