any freelance designers?

marumaru 1,450 Posts
edited June 2006 in Strut Central
i've been asked by a friend to design her entire identity package: logo, business card, letterhead, envelopes, web splah page. i know there are a lot of design heads on this board. what do people normally charge for something like this or what's a typical hourly rate? i have no experience in freelancing, plus she's a good friend so i also want to give her a good deal. any info would be appreciated.

Comments

• DelayDelay 4,530 Posts
    depends how picky she is about the logo... $2k??

• TabaskoTabasko 1,357 Posts
    i've been asked by a friend to design her entire identity package: logo, business card, letterhead, envelopes, web splah page. i know there are a lot of design heads on this board. what do people normally charge for something like this or what's a typical hourly rate? i have no experience in freelancing, plus she's a good friend so i also want to give her a good deal. any info would be appreciated.

good friends and money dont mix. If she a really good friend, do it for free.

• dmacdmac 472 Posts
    depends how picky she is about the logo... $2k??

Prices for graphic design can be all over the freakin' map, and therefore difficult to gauge what is 'fair' without cheapening the profession (bad) or not being well-compensated for your work (really bad).
    The Graphic Artists Guild has a published guide for fair & ethical pricing, etc. It also explains how you should license your work and includes some handy template contracts for covering your [designer] ass. Even if your client is a friend, make sure both of your interests are fully acknowledged and protected.
    I think the book retails for $30.00. At the very least, skim through it at your local bookstore. Don't be put off by the bad cover illustration. Its a very enlightening, even necessary, read.

• DWGDWG 334 Posts