A question for the big dude dealers

Danno3000Danno3000 2,850 Posts
edited April 2006 in Strut Central
I've been asked to sell a 3000 piece jazz collection. I haven't seen it yet. It could easily be 3000 bongos and percussion LPs. Anyway, what sort of fee do you think I should ask for selling the fellow's records? I was thinking about a 25% commission. Should that be more? Less? I have no experience with this.

Comments

• DjArcadianDjArcadian 3,630 Posts
    You selling the collection as a whole or piece-by-piece? Are you storing or is he?

• lotuslandlotusland 740 Posts
    it all depends on what you're selling and how it is sold.

two sides of the scale are:
    killer stuff, selling on Ebay.

vs.

shite, selling to personal connections.
    --------

i'd say 15%-20% for the top of the scale. 25%-50% for the bottom.

does this make sense?

art galleries start at 50%, just ask anthony pearson.

• jinx74jinx74 2,287 Posts
    is he your friend? to add, do you like him enough?

that should be your first thought on what percentage to charge.

also, what are you doing with the collection? ebay? private deals? bulk auction? are you packaging them and taking the money? are you the only one to clean them and check condition?

anyway... if i hand off a bunch of records to a dude im friends with ill split shit 50/50 as long as i dont have to do anything but cash a check. the percentage shrinks the more i have to do.

when selling for a friend i take 15% up to 50% depending on how much work i have to put into it. and really how much the pieces or collection is valued.

• Options
    I do a 1/3 after fees. IS he a friend? If not, do you have the money to back up "my freind in Toronto will buy the whole thing for $xxxx"? That's a lot of records to get rid of. I suggest keeping the cream and flipping the remaining 2300 or so records to a store (still getting your fee, of course).