Martial arts movie buffs - I need some guidance

m_dejeanm_dejean Quadratisch. Praktisch. Gut. 2,946 Posts
edited May 2007 in Strut Central
They're running a series of 10 Chinese martial arts movies from 1970-1982 at the Film Cultural Centre here in CPH this month. My knowledge of the genre is not that deep, but I know I like it a lot, and there are plenty of classics I want to see. I know there are some connoisseurs on this board, and since I only have the money/time to see a few of them, I'd like to hear which ones you think I should check out first:http://www.dfi.dk/cinemateket/Program/seriebeskrivelse.htm?pageType=titler&id=2677Thank you???

Comments

• Otis_FunkmeyerOtis_Funkmeyer 1,321 Posts
    I am far from an expert, but I would suggest:

Dirty Ho

I just have a feeling you might like it.

• m_dejeanm_dejean Quadratisch. Praktisch. Gut. 2,946 Posts

• SwayzeSwayze 14,705 Posts
    Five Deadly Venoms. Download the torrent now. This shit is

• PonyPony 2,283 Posts
    P.Nice started a 10-pager on this very subject not too long ago, search!

Thanks for the heads up! I have heard that he really knows his kung-fu. Not to mention the dude diggs the lone wolf and cub movies (best comic book to movie transition ever made). Thanks again! Ill have to check out these other movies by the SB. I really liked "kid with the golden arms".

• johmbolayajohmbolaya 4,472 Posts
    Damn, all of those are good, hard to pick just a few. If forced, I would see:

Clans of Intrigue
    Dirty Ho
    The Boxer From Shantung
    The Five Venoms
    The New One-Armed Swordsman

• Not an expert either, but you might want to see this one:

My Young Auntie[/b]

It's worth it. Five Venoms is a 42nd street classic, but is slightly slower in terms of pace.

Have fun.

• magneticmagnetic 2,678 Posts
    I recommend you see these in this order

1.King Boxer
    2.The New One Armed Swordman.
    3.Magic Blade.
    4.Five Venoms.
    5.Boxer From Shantung.