Classic Albums Re-Released as 45's

HarveyCanalHarveyCanal "a distraction from my main thesis." 13,234 Posts
edited July 2014 in Strut Central
I saw Donuts, then Criminal Minded, and now Wild Style.

Not sure if I'm getting this trend.

Comments

• DB_CooperDB_Cooper Manhatin' 7,823 Posts
    HarveyCanal said:

For those who really want to have to work for it to listen to a whole album.

• DJ_EnkiDJ_Enki 6,471 Posts
    HarveyCanal said:

I think it's kind of silly, and I'm a resident at an all-45s party.

But then again, as a resident at an all-45s party, I do appreciate having some of this stuff on 45.

But then again, I don't actually play much of it at said all-45s party because it's pretty much guaranteed that somebody else on the bill that night will, so why bother?

• DuderonomyDuderonomy Haut de la Garenne 7,784 Posts
    Is it just for playing out the previously quiet album cuts, or fetishizing the 7" format? I can see the functionality aspect as a lot of rap albums (for example) were mastered too quiet for DJing.

• DustedDonDustedDon 830 Posts
    the Dilla and BDP releases didn't really interest me but the Wild Style release looks pretty damn cool

• dj_cityboydj_cityboy 1,460 Posts
    DustedDon said:
    the Dilla and BDP releases didn't really interest me but the Wild Style release looks pretty damn cool

same....i never kneow there was a wildstyle one actually bout to go and see if i can cop a copy actually... i almost got the BDP, but i mean how friggin copies does one person need to have...

the BDP is kinda messed up in that they have a cassette, CD, Picture disc, limited edition vinyl release, thumbdrive 9mm USB, hats, t-shirts, 45 box set, all tracks a few years ago were released as 12' singles...BDP over-fuckin-kill

• DJ_EnkiDJ_Enki 6,471 Posts
    Duderonomy said:
    fetishizing the 7" format?

It's about 90% this.

• Controller_7Controller_7 4,052 Posts