Beastie Boys "Paul's Boutique"

GenePontecorvoGenePontecorvo 5,612 Posts
edited March 2018 in Music Talk
Just wondering what the hip-hop scholars (no snark!) of this board think of:

Beastie Boys "Paul's Boutique"

Is it a legit top 10 hip-hop album or at least worthy of discussion? Is it still ahead of its time as far its innovative sampling? I'm not a producer, am I wrong for referring to its innovative sampling?One of my favorite albums ever. I don't how much nostalgia plays a part in that. But I can still go back to it and it sounds as good as ever.

Comments

• theory9theory9 1,128 Posts
    Top 10?
    Possible. But I never thought of the sampling as all that innovative--they were label mates with PE and I'm sure they talked about different kinds of production. Its like having Picasso in your art class and doing your own version of the same thing.

Still, a killer album.

• crossingscrossings 946 Posts
    that album could come out today and still sound fresh.

• DjArcadianDjArcadian 3,630 Posts
    Love it. Still one of my favorites.

• thropethrope 750 Posts
    so if your roomates were bumping this at 3am that would be chill?

I KEED I KEED

• Is it a legit top 10 hip-hop album or at least worthy of discussion? Is it still ahead of its time as far its innovative sampling? I'm not a producer, am I wrong for referring to its innovative sampling?

Great album, although not one of my favorites.

Technically, the way the Dust Brothers sampled things was pretty rote-- as much as they layer, they never approach the chaos of PE's "Nation of Millions" from the previous year.