Recommend a drum kit, plaese

ElectrodeElectrode Los Angeles 3,083 Posts
edited September 2005 in Strut Central
I think the time has come for me to make a relatively big purchase and spring for a drum set. I have become accostomed to moving my feet and arms independently and I feel the need to finally get "the real thing" and ditch my little tripod supported practice snare. The thing is, I wouldn't trust the unbiased opinion of some Guitar Center employee nor do pawn shop/thift stores (in the raer instance they have a complete, functioning drum set for sale) in my area allow people to try the damn thing out before putting down the $200-$600. All I want is a basic bass-snare-kick hihat set -- maybe a crash cymbal or a tom, too -- nothing too complicated. I really like that early-60s, Motown sound or idealy, something "Hihache"-like; nothing tin sounding...real accoustic. I understand the woodwork of the drums matters, too. I'm quite new to all of this, so I value the input of those here who are seasoned drummers. Thanks.

Comments

• Maybe this is the wrong froum to aks that question. I dont know an adress of a drummers forum, but google should help.

I'm not a drummer myself but I got a funk band which I produce and I came to the point that you can use any drum set to make funk music. The sounds you know and love are allready recorded and thats a tricky situation to judge a sound after it is recorded. Beacuse the sound is not only coming from the drums but also from the microphones you use and the positions you put them mics, and how many mics you use.

When you put the mic on top of the head of a snare it sounds totayll difrent to the position under the snare. The Bassdrum is the easiest and there for you dont need any special bassdrums. The hardst is the snare, the hihat and cymbals comes after that. A lot comes also from trimming the sound of the istrument itself.