Anxiety

124»

Comments

• ppadilhappadilha 2,236 Posts
    Electrode said:
    I had a couple of you tell me to do some research regarding a possible career change. Well, I have been making phone calls to film post-production places (I love film and I took a digital video editing course earlier this year, so why not?) to ask them what exactly they do everyday. One person offered to take me on a tour of the place one day. I guess that's progress.

I've been working in post-production for over 10 years. Feel free to PM if you have questions or want advice on how to get into it. The work can be boring/grueling at times (what job isn't?) but at the end of a project it can be quite gratifying.

if you do the soccer thing, or any team sport, don't give up after a few tries. You'll suck at first, and it might be frustrating/embarrassing, but you'll only get better the more you play. Team sports are great not just for the exercise, it can really help you build up confidence as well.

• CBT, cognitive behavioral therapy, has been shown to be very effective in treating anxiety and panic attacks. It is not endless talk therapy where you will be discussing every thing that ever happened to you in your life and all the things your mom/dad did to fuck you up (not that there's anything wrong with that kind of therapy). It is goal oriented therapy that can accomplish a lot in a shortish amount of time with very specific methods. Read up on it a little and see if it appeals to you. Good luck.

• There is a lot of great advice in this thread.
    Volunteering can help you get out of your own head and see the world from another perspective, and helping others creates a feeling of self-worth and joy.
    Relationships can be tricky but I'm learning more and more that if you want a friend, you have to be a friend first. Even romantically, if you want a girlfriend, you have to be a good boyfriend. It's an active thing, not passive.