Potential music history being made tonight at midnight

Comments

• The server look like

• SLurgSLurg 446 Posts
    My dude. You know I'm sharp. I got teh smartzes. But I need you to break this down for me. I am a layman.

Tell me in simple words why this is an important shift in music formats. Tell me why this is better. And for the love of god, explain what the ratios mean. [/layman]

Basically it means that the file is so big that your iPod won't have room for any other song. Think of a Walkman that can only have one cassette at the time.

• MjukisMjukis 1,675 Posts
    4YearGraduate said:
    Thanks Mjukis, appreciate the support.
    It could potentially be a really great medium, here's hoping to the future - and faster downloads!

Swedens internet is great in general - at home my connection is 100 mbit upload and download. And ipods and iphones are only getting bigger and bigger. I'd rather have 500 great sounding albums than 5000 in mp3 format - at least I'd like to have the option. But before something like this catches on, the tech will have to catch up a bit. The audio/hifi nerdus might be interested though. Hey - I'm one of them.

• DB_CooperDB_Cooper Manhatin' 7,823 Posts
    nzshadow said:
    It'slike Blu-Ray but you don't need a new player.

THAT'S WHAT I"M TALKING ABOUT. That's the message. That will sell people.

• Congrats Thes, this is a really smart move on your part.
    Will be copt.

• nzshadownzshadow 5,518 Posts
    My D/L was 'interrupted' with 15 min to go.

Started again from my email link and this time it says 1 instead of 3 hours.

While this is inconvenient, it adds to the 'event', in this age of instant gratification and leaked albums etc, it's kinda cool to be jonsing like this, it's been a long while.

• RAJRAJ tenacious local 7,779 Posts
    I'm ready to take the Pepsi Challenge with this new codec.

Would much rather prefer vinyls.

• Always exciting to see new high quality formats. Congrats on this.

Serato compatible?