I wish i knew more about (blank) records.

mrmatthewmrmatthew 1,575 Posts
edited September 2013 in Strut Central
I wish i knew more about classical records.
Nothing worse than coming upon a grip of classical in nm condition in a thrift or flea and just not having the time or patience to ceefrenzy them all. I just know there is some gold in those crates, but i just dont know where to start.
Also, it seems like a grown-man type move to have at least a few top notch classical raers / classics (pipe and brandy related)

What genre do you wish u had better knowledge in and why?

Comments

• parallaxparallax no-style-having mf'er 1,266 Posts
    I'm going to include labels in this thread (no hijack!)

I wish I knew more about the Grapevine Discovery label. Other than John Danser Octet, and Brian Post Free World Band, I know nothing, and both records are sick.

Feel free to school me if you're in the know.

• I love Jazz, but outside of a lot of the usual suspects, I have little knowledge of the wider genre.
    No time or money at the moment to dig a little deeper.

• mrmatthew said:
    Nothing worse than coming upon a grip of classical in nm condition in a thrift or flea and just not having the time or patience to ceefrenzy them all. I just know there is some gold in those crates, but i just dont know where to start.
    Also, it seems like a grown-man type move to have at least a few top notch classical raers / classics (pipe and brandy related)

Don't think you can really do it without a wants list with cat numbers or a way to look stuff up in the field. Just about everything has been repressed, reissued or re-recorded so composer/performers and label generally aren't enough to go on if you're gripping to flip. Certain series from certain labels are always collectable in the right condition but that's a joylessly geeky way of buying music. Forget raers and follow your ears.

• Flomotion said:
    mrmatthew said:

Forget raers and follow your ears.