Website Building (Got tips?)

yuichiyuichi Urban sprawl 11,331 Posts
Looking to make a basic website with information on Rural Japan, I'll start off with a blog to document
my travels and experiences, and then move on to include other content.  Got a few Q's for those that have
experience with this shit, as I am a complete newb and am struggling to foresee the possible problems that
I may face:

1) Any recs for a web host considering my needs?

2) If wanted to switch from a Wordpress theme I was using but I wanted to keep my domain name.  How easy/difficult is it to transition to a new look website (custom)? 

3)  Any recs for a custom website builder? 
Just like a good doctor, hard to locate? 

Appreciate any general tips and advice as well!

Comments

• DORDOR Two Ron Toe 9,896 Posts
    I hear geocities still runs in japan.

• yuichiyuichi Urban sprawl 11,331 Posts
    DOR, I think Blackvinyljunkie's HP is on Geocities, is it not?  lol 
    b/w You seem pretty technically sufficient.  Got any advice?

• JectWonJectWon (@_@) 1,654 Posts
    I hear that Squarespace makes it pretty dang easy to put a site together.  I think they have a free trial, too.

http://www.squarespace.com/

• SPlDEYSPlDEY Vegas 3,375 Posts
    yuichi said:
    Looking to make a basic website with information on Rural Japan, I'll start off with a blog to document
    my travels and experiences, and then move on to include other content.  Got a few Q's for those that have
    experience with this shit, as I am a complete newb and am struggling to foresee the possible problems that
    I may face:

1) Any recs for a web host considering my needs?

2) If wanted to switch from a Wordpress theme I was using but I wanted to keep my domain name.  How easy/difficult is it to transition to a new look website (custom)? 

3)  Any recs for a custom website builder? 
    Just like a good doctor, hard to locate? 

Appreciate any general tips and advice as well!