what would you do? (record store clerk related)

KNOWKNAIMEKNOWKNAIME 51 Posts
edited August 2007 in Strut Central
I was working as a clerk for store credit at my local record shop, I'm not an ethnomusicologist or whatever, I read Wax Poetics. I'm very new to sampling and the construction of beats. Let's face it, I'm a rookie. I live in an area where the record scene is still aging hipsters that collect the music for collecting's sake. I've found really cheap, quality stuff and have the local shop on lock down. So, when a young guy comes in to the used record store asking for the current rap 12" singles and saying things like "Do you have any sample reocrds?" I felt like saying " Do your homework, Kid!" What do you do?

Comments

• ElectrodeElectrode Los Angeles 3,083 Posts
    I would shoot them.

• KineticKinetic 3,739 Posts
    Without question, this is the most appropriate response.

• CosmophonicCosmophonic 1,172 Posts
    Fredfaded and I were in a store in Oslo not too long ago, talking about records, and some nerd 13-year old kid comes over asking "Breaks? Got any breaks? Where are the breaks? Hvor er breaksa?" I struggled to supress a smile and pointed at the corner with the Country pile and said "in there somewhere!"

- J

• Fredfaded and I were in a store in Oslo not too long ago, talking about records, and some nerd 13-year old kid comes over asking "Breaks? Got any breaks? Where are the breaks? Hvor er breaksa?" I struggled to supress a smile and pointed at the corner with the Country pile and said "in there somewhere!"

- J

haha, and the guy was laughing nervously and sweating at the same time when he found out that we were pulling a joke on him.

cosmo: fant masse heat i g??r. legger opp bilde p?? weekend finds greia etterp??. var messe i oslo i g??r, my billig psych og prog.

-F

• SoulOnIceSoulOnIce 13,027 Posts