What is the best way to go from cassette to Mp3?

JustAliceJustAlice 1,308 Posts
edited June 2007 in Strut Central
I have some irreplaceable tapes of an acoustic trio I performed years ago and one of the homies passed away last year and I need to immortalize the recordings the best way possible. I know this has been discussed many a times but I couldnt find anything in a search. Do I just daisy chain the ish through my receiver and into my confuser? Should I go through the mixer, or is it even possible? Are there any special free/share ware programs (mac) that will sound better or specifically made for cassette to digital?many thanks.

Comments

• i'm no sound professional, but i just hook my stereo system up to the laptop and record from tapedeck directly into cool edit pro. Nothing fancy and it gets the job done.

• HawkeyeHawkeye 896 Posts
    You should record it into your PC as a WAV File 16 Bit 44.1 KHz.

Than you should maybe do some EQing, rais the bass, lower the bass or whatever is needed for a better presence of the material.

There are certain programs / plug ins where you can try to clean the material because it will have some tapehiss.

But you should be careful, beacuse those programs can destroy the material in a way too.

After that you can master/limit it carefuly for making it louder.

And keep a WAV File copy of those datas. Now the standrat format is MP3, but MP?? is shitty and will be replaced in the future by better CD quality standarts.

Thats all you can do, nothing more nothing less !!!!

Peace
    Hawkeye

• fejmelbafejmelba 1,139 Posts
    Do I just daisy chain the ish through my receiver and into my confuser?

• bozakbozak 334 Posts
    if you have a desktop pc you can buy this this

however, if you have outputs on your casette deck you could just plug them into your soundcard...and if you dont have one with decent preamps you probobly know someone who would let you borrow it for a day or two.