mixes bandwidth questions (word problem related)

edith headedith head 5,106 Posts
edited June 2005 in Strut Central
i registered with godaddy for uber cheap webhosting (only $4/month) and it allows me 25gigs of bandwidth per month. i am not experienced with this and am worried about going over because aren't the charges similiar to going over yr cell minutes? if i upload one mix at 57megabytes, how many times can it be downloaded before i exceed my bandwidth?

Comments

• TREWTREW 2,037 Posts
    i registered with godaddy for uber cheap webhosting (only $4/month) and it allows me 25gigs of bandwidth per month. i am not experienced with this and am worried about going over because aren't the charges similiar to going over yr cell minutes? if i upload one mix at 57megabytes, how many times can it be downloaded before i exceed my bandwidth?

well a gig is 1000 mb.. you should be fine unless your mixes get 'soulstrut-esque' listenership.

• edith headedith head 5,106 Posts
    i do want to post the mix on here but i am scared because my bandwith has never had to answer to 'soulstrut-esque' listenership.

• TREWTREW 2,037 Posts
    i do want to post the mix on here but i am scared because my bandwith has never had to answer to 'soulstrut-esque' listenership.

see, now i need to hear it.. perhaps a 'for 2 hours only' type DL would be gentle on your server?

• emyndemynd 830 Posts
    You might consider throwing it up on http://www.megaupload.com for the intiail onslaught and then, after all the hoopla calms down and you won't have to worry about getting your bandwith blamblammed, posting it on your webspace. You can upload something up to 500 megs on megaupload.com.

-e

• ayresayres 1,452 Posts
    I put a mix up last night, and this morning at 11 AM my site crashed because it exceeded 10 GB in one day. Bandwidth goes fast when lurkers are downloading.

• BigSpliffBigSpliff 3,266 Posts