Recently got a radio show(promo related)

Ayrotollah77Ayrotollah77 415 Posts
edited October 2006 in Strut Central
Gotta late night slot at a local collage radio station. I was wondering what me be the deal with promo joints these days. Any insight on where and how to go about gettin some treats for the "show"?

Comments

• I'm also curious about this subject.

My school only has an internet radio station, kinda weak. Would labels still send promos? And do you just contact labels yourself?

I guess I could just ask people I know that work their/have shows, but basically I'm just posting to say, ayrotolloh, you are not alone on your quest for free shit.

• mordecaimordecai 2,204 Posts
    most labels have people/companies that handle servicing. it helps if you report regularly to a trade/mag... top 5/10, reviews, adds.

be diligent about feedback and reporting and you'll do well.
    i'm not very good at either.

ps- you get a lot of crap that you might not necessarily be able to resell.

• rkwparkrkwpark 915 Posts
    the days of record companies sending out lavish ass promo items has gone the way of the dinosaurs... most labels go through promo companies like room service, spectre, fanatic, terrorbird etc so you may have to go through them. wouldnt your hip hop director or music director be the one you should be talking to? i wouldnt recommend going behind their back to get 'free' shit, unless your radio station is charting with cmj, rap attack or some other charting service, i doubt the labels will service you.

also, stations are ranked by output/range etc for example, wfmu is like a 6, most interent stations are 1's or 2's, that also affects servicing.

good luck.

• yeah see I only had some half-assed idea about how all that stuff worked...

thanks.