Black Jazz / Spiritual Jazz Recommendations...

djsheepdjsheep 3,620 Posts
edited January 2006 in Strut Central
I'm after stuff which sounds like "Higher Ground" or "Power And Glory"... what other tunes or LPs have a similar full spiritual sound... ?I'm a newb when it comes to this... where's aschrock and the other knowledgable heads about this ish at. What Black Jazz titles are must haves. I've only got Doug Carn "Revelation".peace.

Comments

• Birdman9Birdman9 5,417 Posts
    I'm after stuff which sounds like "Higher Ground" or "Power And Glory"... what other tunes or LPs have a similar full spiritual sound... ?

I'm a newb when it comes to this... where's aschrock and the other knowledgable heads about this ish at. What Black Jazz titles are must haves. I've only got Doug Carn "Revelation".

peace.

Charles Sullivan-Genesis on Strata -East(later press on Inner City and Japanese on Trio)
    Dee Dee Bridgewater-Afro Blue on Trio
    Stanley Clarke-Children of Tomorrow on Polydor

many more...

• I'm after stuff which sounds like "Higher Ground" or "Power And Glory"... what other tunes or LPs have a similar full spiritual sound... ?

I'm a newb when it comes to this... where's aschrock and the other knowledgable heads about this ish at. What Black Jazz titles are must haves. I've only got Doug Carn "Revelation".

peace.

Dude I am running out the door but I will post some stuff tonight!

PS: by "spiritual" you mean electric instruments with dee-dee bridgewater style vocals, right? (not reed-heavy coltrane)

• drewnicedrewnice 5,465 Posts
    You might wanna do some searching too, Sheep. I recall there being more than a least a couple threads about this.